Monday, 10 April 2017

Fredricks Hotel & Spa Maidenhead; a Review


On Monday last week I got the opportunity to experience my first ever antenatal spa day. It was the same as any normal spa day but with less champagne and more "OH JESUS" sounds every time I had to get up from the sun lounger without a hand rail or a serious shove from somebody.

Fredricks Hotel & Spa is in Maidenhead, Berkshire. It's about a 3 minute drive from the M4 so it's easy to find and there is also plenty of free parking at the front of the hotel. The spa is located at the right hand side of the hotel.

SHARE:

Tuesday, 4 April 2017

Anxiety in Pregnancy


I am quite an anxious person. I'm the "Shit, did I just offend her?" kind of anxious, rather than the "Can't walk into a room of strangers" type of anxious, but it's always a voice in my head. For the past few years I've definitely had it under control- I would say there's probably been 1 or 2 days in a year where I've felt like I can't do something because of 'anxiety'. I've gotten pretty good at managing things that are going to put me into that 'zone' and avoiding them entirely. Not the best coping strategy in all cases, but it works for me.

Being pregnant has definitely exacerbated my anxiety. The other night I was home alone between around 4pm and 1am. This would usually be a DREAM for me (bath, book, chocolate, bed, film, sleep) but instead it was just awful. I spent the entire night counting down the hours until my husband came home. I was stressed, I was restless, I jumped at every sound, and I was convinced that there were burglars downstairs on three separate occasions. We have a home alarm system with surveillance cameras fitted and I think I requested photos from those cameras twice during the night just to check that there wasn't a murderer sat on my sofa in silence. I turned on all the lights in the house and then worried that I was creating a lighthouse effect and everybody who walked past my house would be drawn to the light like a criminal moth. I turned off all the lights and suddenly the house was full of intruders. I sat in bed bolt upright watching YouTube videos until my husband walked through the door and immediately felt like a total idiot for being so worried.

SHARE:

Monday, 6 February 2017

A PREGNANT LADY PSA


So being pregnant does weird things to your body. You're sick, you're tired, you're sad, you're hyper, you don't want to leave the house, you don't want to tell anybody you're pregnant, you want someone to hug you, you want to punch the next person who talks to you. It's weird. Do you know what's weirder? PEOPLE DO NOT REACT APPROPRIATELY TOWARDS PREGNANT WOMEN AT ALL.

What is it with you guys? What about "I'm pregnant" turns you so mental? This is a pregnant lady PSA bitches.


DON'T TOUCH ME 
Do not touch me. Don't affectionately rub my belly, don't pat my back. If you didn't feel comfortable patting my KFC belly before I was pregnant then why would I want you touching it now it has a baby inside it? Also, if I'm like 3 months pregnant then the majority of my "belly" is literally still KFC. I don't have a bump. You're just rubbing me. It's horrible. Staaaaaaahp.

DON'T TELL ME I'M NOT ENTITLED TO FEEL LIKE SHIT 
"Umm it's like the size of a poppy seed and you can barely get off the sofa? SUREEEE". Let me tell you something 'lady who has never been through the first trimester'. I felt sick a week before my period was due. Feeling sick, tired and dizzy were the first cards that pregnancy dealt to me. I fainted in the first week of my pregnancy. My appetite completely disappeared (I KNOW!) and I was unable to eat a proper evening meal for 2 months. I lived off weird dry bits of toast and water. The shittiest part of pregnancy is the very first part, and feeling 'terrible' is the most common symptom of early pregnancy.

I DON'T WANT YOUR OPINION ON NATURAL BIRTHS OR VACCINATIONS
"I assume you'll want a natural birth?". Why, of all things holy, would I want a natural birth? I take paracetamol for the smallest headache. I put a plaster on my leg if I cut myself shaving. I'm not saying I'm going to pussy out and opt for an elective cesarean but if there are drugs to be had I want them all.  Gas and air? Yeah. Epidural? I'm definitely up for that. Gimme everything you've got. I'm going to be proud of myself either way. Also, preaching to me about vaccinations or water births or breastfeeding is a waste of your breath. The vaccinations are happening. I don't need you to tell me about your cousin who vaccinated her kids and now they're in prison.

I'M NOT GOING TO TELL YOU MY BABY NAMES
I don't have a name yet. Not one that we've decided on 100%. I don't want to tell you the names I like and the names I don't like. I'll announce the name when he's born, when you're less likely to shout "Ew no that's terrible" to my face. I'm such a bore, I know- you've told me 900 times.

I DON'T WANT TO HEAR YOUR LABOUR HORROR STORIES 
Everybody has a terrifying birth story in their repertoire, and since I announced I was pregnant I've heard about 40 of them along with advice like "So basically if you have gas and air you'll end up paralyzed like my mate". Oh! Cool! Thank you SO MUCH! Luckily, I have some truly gorgeous mummy friends who have been supportive and nothing but lovely. I've had loads of helpful advice and tips, and a lot of adorable birth stories. I think any birth story ending in "And then she died" should automatically be something that you aren't allowed to tell a pregnant lady. Believe it or not, these arseholes are out there and they have a fucking story for you.


SHARE:

Thursday, 2 February 2017

COMING OUT OF THE PREGNANCY CLOSET


Tomorrow I'm going for my 20 week scan. 20 WEEKS. Never has the phrase "whirlwind of emotions" been so prevalent in my life. We found out we were pregnant on the 14th of October 2016, although I was pretty sure I was pregnant during the week beforehand. We were in America doing the West Coast Drive and I'd been feeling pretty dizzy and sick for a few days. As my husband is fully aware I am always right about everything; we found out we were pregnant minutes after getting back to the house.

The first couple of months were hard. The hardest part was the secrecy. I would definitely consider myself a private person but I don't often have "secrets" to keep from my friends. It's quite difficult to transition from 'SEE YOU IN REVS I'LL HAVE A PINOT' to 'I fancy going for dinner instead?' without raising any suspicions so I felt a bit like I was putting a wall around myself (no Trump jokes please). It was a pretty lonely few months. Things have definitely improved now that I'm out of the 'Pregnancy Closet', I absolutely love being pregnant and I already know that I'm going to miss it when the baby comes.

I struggled with morning sickness in the first 3 months but I had the evening version, so it hit me every single day between 5pm and 8pm. Driving home from work became a bit 'Whacky Races' and I often went straight from the car to bed. However, I think dealing with it in work at 9am would have been a much more traumatic experience so in hindsight I probably lucked out a bit.

Today I am 20 weeks and 2 days pregnant. I go for my 20 week scan tomorrow where we will hopefully find out whether we're having a girl or a boy. I toyed with the idea of not finding out but to be honest I'm kidding myself, I definitely want to know. My husband is super excited to find out and also it just makes planning considerably easier. I'm a planner (understatement).

Talking of husbands, Ben has been phenomenal since the day we got the positive. Honestly, I don't know what the hell I would have done without him. He's been patient, and kind, and supportive, and attentive. He's just been unreal. I've read a lot of "My other half is just not interested in my pregnancy" which to me would be terrifying, but Ben has stepped up to the bar and has been to every single antenatal booking and nurse appointment from day 1. Yesterday he put money in my account to buy a load of maternity clothes because I was getting a bit self conscious at work. He has just been "there" for me 100% of the time. He's listened to me bitch and moan and he's put up with ridiculous moodswings over absolutely nothing and he hasn't once been fed up with me. That boy deserves a medal.

I'm really enjoying being pregnant. It has ups and downs and it's definitely not easy but I have a new found confidence that has come out of nowhere, and I'm really happy right now. Baby Herrington will be arriving in June 2017!


SHARE:

Wednesday, 4 January 2017

HAPPY NEW YEAR!


2017 is going to be a very "different" kind of year for me. The past couple of years have been a bit of a blur of winebars and hangovers but I'm starting 2017 as a sober person (which made for a very weird New Years Eve).

Posts coming soon, thanks for still reading even though I've been quiet... xo
SHARE:

Friday, 16 December 2016

The West Coast Drive; Trip of a LIFETIME

At the end of September my husband and I flew out to San Francisco to do the West Coast Drive. This is something we've wanted to do together for years and was probably the best holiday we've ever been on. I recorded a tonne of footage but all of it is on my GoPro as at the moment I'm lacking a computer powerful enough to handle the editing (I'm using a tablet!). I need to see if I can borrow a PC from somebody. We started the holiday with a few days in San Francisco and did pretty much every touristy thing out there. We rode the tram, walked down to Pier 39, took a tour around the Redwood Parks and crossed the Golden Gate Bridge. I love San Francisco and it's just as magical every time I'm lucky enough to visit. Amazing seafood too! We picked up a Convertible Mustang (*ladyboner*) from the city centre and headed down the coast to Monterrey. Monterrey Aquarium is the best aquarium in the world and I can't rate it highly enough- definitely worth a visit if you can make it!


SHARE:
© Reviews at Random. All rights reserved.
BLOGGER TEMPLATE MADE BY pipdig